[Review] A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

ACOTAR

ACOTAR Review

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 

paul dunphee.gif

 

Word, Phil.

A Court of Thorns and Roses was one of the most talked about and adored books of 2015. It took me a while to get to it and honestly I can say I don’t get the hype. I think that SJM and I don’t really mesh that well. While I generally enjoy her stories overall, I tend to think that she writes too damn much. All of her books could be cut in half AT LEAST.

The beginning had promise. I enjoyed reading about Feyre’s family life and how she has to be the provider for them, even though they’re not grateful for her. But after that nothing happens until the book is 2/3 of the way over. Nothing.

Mild spoiler alert: she walks around a manor house painting shit. For two-thirds of the book. Kill me.

This book felt like it had all the worst parts of Twilight with added soft-core sex scenes. I should have counted the amount of times Tamlin made Feyre feel things between her legs. Don’t get me wrong, I like a sexy book as much as the next girl, but those have their time and place and usually I like to know that that’s what I’m getting into.

I’m honestly having a hard time even writing this review. I gave it 3 flames (which feels a little generous to me) because in the last quarter of the book some shit finally does go down and I found myself wanting to know what happens next, but I definitely don’t share the love that everyone else seems to have with this book.

meh_emma_stone

 

Did you like this book? Tell me why I’m wrong 😉

 

Traci

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “[Review] A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Hi Traci! I wasn’t a fan of this book as well. I agree that the beginning showed promise, and then it derailed into something unrecognizable? idk, I wasn’t a fan of how the plot ‘developed’ and played out. I only really liked Lucien, hahahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Traci, I totally agree. Lucien was the best, but I didn’t care for the other characters. I was pretty uncomfortable with the Twilight-esque romance and the way Tamlin dominated Feyre with little regret. If I remember correctly, there’s actually part of the book where he says she should go because he couldn’t resist her any longer, which is a mindset I thought most YA fiction has been working to oppose. I’m a little disappointed that this book was well-received because I think there were other novels that deserved more attention.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s